The View Once feature lets you send photos and videos for just one view. Once seen, it will be removed from the WhatsApp chat in a way that both the sender and the recipient will not be able to view it again. Here, we have explained how to use WhatsApp view once on Android and iOS.
The new WhatsApp feature named View Once was recently introduced on Android and iOS devices. It will enable you to send photos and videos to a WhatsApp chat for a single view, and then, it disappears.
About WhatsApp View Once
The feature will help you share content you don’t want to retain in the chat. However, the video once feature can only be used to send photos and videos and not text.
- How to Take a Screenshot on iPhone
- How to View Private Instagram Profiles
- Send WhatsApp Messages Without Typing
Such media items shared using the View Once feature are not saved anywhere in the recipients' device and cannot be found in their Photos app or Gallery. With this feature, WhatsApp gives you a right over what you send to people.
With the way the feature works, once a photo or video is sent using the feature, the receiver will not be able to view it again from the chat or their gallery. It is gone forever.
Also, files sent using the view once feature cannot be sent or forwarded to other users. You cannot also save, star or share with other chats or groups.
What this means is that the photos or videos you send through the view once feature will cease to exist on the chat once viewed. Besides, they are also removed from a chat that hasn’t been opened after 14 days. To learn how to use the WhatsApp View Once feature on Android and iOS, kindly proceed below.
How to use WhatsApp View Once on Android and iOS
Before you proceed, confirm that you have the latest WhatsApp installed on your device from Google Play Store or iOS App Store.
- Launch WhatsApp on your device and open a chat.
- Choose a photo or video you want to send and tap the View Once icon placed next to the caption box. A notification will be shown in the middle of the content to confirm that you want to activate the feature.
- Next, tap Send and share with the chat.
WhatsApp, however, advises only to send photos and videos with the view once feature to people you trust. This is because people can take a screenshot or record the screen before the media disappear.
Also, you won’t be notified if the receiver takes a screenshot or make a screen recording of the photo or video before it disappears. According to WhatsApp, the media sent using View Once feature is encrypted, and this encryption may be stored on their servers for a while.
Besides, the sent media can be shared with WhatsApp if reported by the receiver. So, ensure you use the feature to send photos or videos to people that you trust.
The media sent using WhatsApp View Once feature disappear once viewed. To use the feature, you will be required to tap the View Once icon every time you are sending a picture or video. But take note that, some users might take a screenshot or record the file you have sent using the feature.
- How to Add Link to Instagram Story
- How to Use Voice to Tweet on Twitter
- Recover Deleted Photos and Videos from Google
Found this post helpful? Please, endeavour to share.
- ESIM Providers: Do MNOs Need Them? - September 27, 2022
- Fixed: Secure Boot Is Not Enabled On This Machine FIFA 23 - September 27, 2022
- Fixed: The Application Encountered An Unrecoverable Error FIFA 23 - September 27, 2022